Saqr Al-Jazira Aviation Museum
A brief about the museum

Saqr Al-Jazira Aviation Museum is considered one of the museums that are interested in aviation and sciences related to aviation. It reviews a journey of a continuous success of more than one hundred years, from watching aircrafts in the sky of the Arabian Peninsula through King Abdulaziz owning aircrafts and establishing the first Air Force in the year 1344 AH. 

The role of Saqr Al-Jazira Aviation Museum is not only a display of the past. However, it combines a mixture of the old past by displaying historical equipments, artifacts, historical documents, and the present by displaying great technical advances achieved by aviation sectors in general. The opening of the museum was on the 7th of Shawwal 1419 AH. under the patronage of His Royal Highness Prince Abdullah bin Abdulaziz, Crown Prince, Deputy Prime Minister and Head of the National Guard (back then). Since then, the museum has received official delegations, guests and official visitors.

The purpose of establishing the museum:

To document and highlight efforts and achievements made to build, develop and modernize the Royal Saudi Air Force by the governors, leaders and officials, and to use this in educating the Air Force staff in particular, and the Armed Forces in general, in addition to citizens and visitors. Also, to encourage youths to think about aviation and space science through exhibits and education and entertainment facilities.

Exhibits and Collectables of the Museum:

Saqr Al-Jazira Aviation Museum displays a large group of airplanes, collectables, pictures, historical documents and some movies that talks about the history of the Royal Saudi Air Force and some of its operations. The Museum also displays some special and luminous cabins.

King Abdulaziz Aircraft (Dakota DC3)

A Historical Brief About the Aircraft:

In the year 1364 AH. King Abdulaziz headed to Egypt to attend a meeting that includes King Abdulaziz, King Farouk (King of Egypt at that time), Franklin Roosevelt (The US President at that time) and the UK Prime Minister Winston Churchill (At that time).

In the 3rd of Rabi' al-awwal, year 1364 AH. that is February 15th 1945, King Abdulaziz met with the US President Roosevelt and that was the first time King Abdulaziz met a US President. The US President has presented King Abulaziz with a gift that is an American made aircraft and by that expressing friendship between the two countries.

The Dakota DC3 Aircraft:

The Dakota DC3 is one of the most important turning points in the world of aviation in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, not because it is the first civil aircraft, but the first aircraft that flew the founder of this country, King Abdulaziz,, may Almighty Allah have mercy on his soul, also, its contribution to the well-being of the citizen and it is considered the turning point in the world of transportation in the Kingdom. The service of this aircraft was terminated in 1977 after more than two decades it was in service. After the idea of establishing the museum, the Dakota DC3 was one of the first acquisitions that were displayed in the museum and this is due to the historical legacy of this aircraft.


Historical Pictures Section:

Which is a collection of historical stages that the Royal Saudi Air Force passed through, where each stage contains the pictures and documents related to them since the establishment of the Air Force in the reign of King Abdulaziz in 1344 AH. to the present time through display screens located in this section and some stereographs  of aircrafts and fatigues of military leaders.

Airbases Section:

This section displays all the bases in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, starting from King Abdul Aziz Airbase in Dhahran as the oldest base, also, this section allows the visitor to identify each base through a brief of its history and some pictures of the base as well as pictures of the leaders who succeeded  the leadership of the base.


Westland Wapiti Aircraft Section:

This cabinet represents the way and style which camps in old days were like. In addition to the role of the Westland Wapiti aircrafts in protecting camps and transporting mail and medications to remote areas.


The F-15 Aircraft Section:

This section contains a simulator of the F-15 aircraft and a display screen to give the visitor an idea of some of the tasks the aircraft does. In addition, the museum placed the F-15 at the main entrance gate for visitors so that they could see the plane up close.


The Typhoon Section:

This section includes a simulator of the Typhoon aircraft, in addition to a screen that displays information and specifications of the Typhoon aircraft. As well as pictures, manuals, posters for visitors and information about the Typhoon aircraft displayed by the touch screen inside the cabinet.


The C-130 Section:

This section presents the visitor with the tasks of the aircraft that it carries out such as the logistic support. This section also includes a collection of historical pictures and documents and some display screens for some of its operations such as refueling, parachuting and transporting of soldiers.


King Faisal Air Academy (KFAA):

It is a section that displays the history of the academy and the leaders who have succeeded its leadership. This section has a display screen where the visitor learns about study stages and activities carried out by the academy. Also, there is a military uniform for the graduates and a LBC9 module that is currently used in the training of students.


Technical Studies Institute Section:

This section talks about the history of the Technical Studies Institute in Dhahran through a historical movie that shows the beginnings of the institute and study stages. It also shows the pictures of the chiefs who succeeded the leadership of the Institute and some of the art collections and military fatigues.


Space Section:

It is a special section dedicated for the astronaut Prince Sultan bin Salman as the first Muslim astronaut, and it contains a collection of his belongings, where the section also contains a display screen and some of the clothes that he used during his space trip, the astronaut Prince presented these belongings of him as a gift to the museum after he visited it.


Military Fatigues Section:

A section that talks about the history of military fatigues through the collecting and classifying of those fatigues and they are sorted according to their names and types and the time period in which they were used.


To download the brochure click here

متحف صقر الجزيرة للطيران
نبذة عن المتحف

يعتبر متحف صقر الجزيرة للطيران من المتاحف التي تهتم بالطيران والعلوم المتعلقة به. حيث يستعرض في جنباته مسيرة نجاح مستمرة لأكثر من مائة عام، وذلك من مشاهدة الطائرات في سماء شبه الجزيرة العربية عام 1333هـ مروراً بإمتلاك الملك عبد العزيز للطائرات وإنشاء أول قوة جوية عام 1344هـ. 

متحف صقر الجزيرة للطيران لا يقتصر دوره في إبراز الماضي فقط، بل شكل مزيجاً بين الماضي القديم من مقتنيات وطائرات ووثائق تاريخية وبين الحاضر وما توصل إليه الطيران من  تقدم تقني كبير . وقد تم افتتاح المتحف في السابع من شوال لعام 1419هـ  برعاية صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير عبدا لله بن عبدا لعزيز ولي العهد نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء ورئيس الحرس الوطني (آنذاك) . ومنذ ذلك الوقت والمتحف يستقبل الوفود الرسمية والضيوف والزوار الرسميين.

الهدف من إنشاء المتحف:

توثيق وإبراز الجهود التي بذلت والإنجازات التي تمت لبناء وتنمية وتطوير وتحديث القوات الجوية الملكية السعودية من قبل ولاة الامر والقادة والمسئولين وتوظيف ذلك في تثقيف منسوبي القوات الجوية خاصة والقوات المسلحة عامة والمواطنين والزوار ، وحث الشباب على التفكير في علوم الطيران والفضاء من خلال المعروضات ووسائل التعليم والتسلية.

معروضات ومقتنيات المتحف:

يستعرض متحف صقر الجزيرة للطيران مجموعة كبيرة من الطائرات والمقتنيات والصور والوثائق التاريخية وبعض الأفلام التي تتكلم عن تاريخ القوات الجوية الملكية السعودية وبعض عملياتها . وكذلك يستعرض المتحف في جنباته بعض الأركان والمقصورات المتميزة والمضيئة :

طائرة الملك عبدالعزيز داكوتا DC3

نبذة تاريخية عن الطائرة:

في عام 1364هـ توجه الملك عبدالعزيز رحمه الله إلي مصر لحضور اجتماع يجمع كل من الملك عبدالعزيز والملك فاروق ملك مصر والرئيس الأمريكي روز فلت ورئيس الوزراء البريطاني تشيرشل. 

وفي يوم 3ربيع الأول 1364هـ الموافق 15فبراير 1945م التقاء الملك عبد العزيز بالرئيس الأمريكي روزفلت وكان هذا اللقاء الأول للملك عبد العزيز مع رئيس أمريكي ، ومن خلال هذا اللقاء قدم الرئيس الأمريكي هدية للملك عبد العزيز وهي عبارة عن طائرة أمريكية الصنع تعبيراً عن مشاعر الصداقة بين البلدين .

طائرة الداكوتا

تبقى طائرة داكوتا من أهم نقاط التحول في عالم الطيران بالمملكة, ليس لكونها أول طائرة مدنية ولكنها أول طائرة أقلت مؤسس هذه بالبلاد الملك عبدالعزيز رحمه الله وكذلك إسهامها في رفاهية المواطن وهي تعتبر نقطة التحول في عالم المواصلات في المملكة . فبعد أن خدمت هذه الطائرة لأكثر من عقدين تم إحالتها عن الخدمة عام 1977م وبعد أن أتت فكرة إنشاء المتحف كانت طائرة الداكوتا من ضمن أوائل المقتنيات التي عرضت داخل المتحف ويعود ذلك للأرث التاريخي لهذه الطائرة. وقد أتيح للزوار دخول هذه الطائرة ومشاهدتها عن قرب والإطلاع على الوثائق التاريخية والصور وأسماء المرافقين للملك عبدالعزيز في أول رحلة. 

ركن الصور التاريخية 

وهو عبارة عن مجموعة من المراحل التاريخية التي مرت بها القوات الجوية الملكية السعودية بحيث تحتوي كل مرحلة على الصور والوثائق المتعلقة بها منذ أن تاسيس القوات الجوية في عهد الملك عبدالعزيز عام 1344هـ وحتى وقتنا الحاضر 

من خلال شاشات العرض المتواجدة في الركن وبعض مجسمات الطائرات والبدل العسكرية للقادة.

ركن القواعد الجوية

يستعرض هذا الركن جميع القواعد في المملكة بداءً من قاعدة الملك عبد العزيز الجوية بمدينة الظهران كونها أقدم قاعدة حيث يتيح هذا الركن للزائر التعرف على كل قاعدة من خلال نبذة مختصرة عن تاريخها وبعض الصور للقاعدة وكذلك عرض صور القادة الذين تعاقبوا على قيادة القاعدة.

ركن الوابتي 

تمثل هذه المقصورة النمط أو الشكل السائد الذي كانت عليه المعسكرات في القدم بالإضافة إلى دور طائرات الوابتي في حماية المعسكرات ونقل البريد ونقل الأدوية للمناطق النائية.

ركن طائرة اف 15

يحتوي هذه الركن على جهاز تشبيهي خاص بطائرة ف 15 وشاشة عرض يتم من خلالها إعطاء الزائر بعض المهام التي تقوم بها الطائرة . بالإضافة أن المتحف قام بوضع طائرة اف 15 على مدخل الزوار الرئيسي حتى يتمكنوا من مشاهدة الطائرة والتعرف عليها عن قرب.

ركن طائرة التايفون :

تشتمل هذه المقصورة على جهاز طيران تشبيهي خاص بطائرة التايفون بالإضافة لشاشة عرض تتحدث عن الطائرة ومواصفاتها بالإضافة لبعض الصور والكتيبات وبعض الملصقات التي تقدم للزوار، ومعلومات عن الطائرة تقدم من خلالها شاشة اللمس داخل المقصورة.

ركن طائرة سي 130 

يقوم هذا الركن بتعريف الزائر على مهام الطائرة التي تقوم بها من دعم لوجستي ويشتمل هذا الركن على مجموعة من الصور والوثائق التاريخية وبعض شاشات العرض الخاصة ببعض عملياتها مثل التزود بالوقود والإنزال المظلي ونقل الجنود.

ركن كلية الملك فيصل الجوية :

هو ركن يعرض تاريخ الكلية والقادة الذين تعاقبوا على قيادتها ويوجد بهذا الركن شاشة عرض يتعرف الزائر من خلالها على مراحل الدراسة والأنشطة التي تقوم بها الكلية. ايضاً يوجد بهذا الركن الزي العسكري للخريجين ومجسم لطائرة الـ بي سي 9 المستخدمة حالياً في تدريب الطلبة.

ركن معهد الدراسات الفنية 

يسرد هذا الركن تاريخ معهد الدراسات الفنية بالظهران من خلال فلم تاريخي يتكلم عن بدايات المعهد ومراحل الدراسة كما يعرض صور القادة الذين تعاقبوا على قيادتة وبعض المقتنيات الفنية والملابس العسكرية.

ركن الفضاء :

وهو ركن خاص برائد الفضاء الأمير سلطان بن سلمان كونه أول رائد فضاء مسلم ويحتوي على مجموعه من المقتنيات الخاصةبه ، حيث يحتوي الركن على شاشة عرض وبعض الملابس التي استخدمها أثناء رحلته الفضائية، وقد قدم هذه المقتنيات هدية للمتحف بعد زيارته له.

الملابس العسكرية 

ركن يتكلم عن تاريخ للملابس العسكرية من خلال جمع وتصنيف تلك الملابس وفرزها حسب مسمياتها وانواعها والحقبة الزمنية التي أستخدمت فيها.

لتحميل المطوية اضغط هنا