Royal Saudi Naval Forces
About Sector

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia "KSA" enjoys a distinctive strategic location in the Arabian Peninsula, far Southeast Asia. The area of Saudi Arabia covers some 2,000,000 square meters, amounting to two-thirds of the Arabian Peninsula, between the Arabian Gulf from the East, and Aqaba Gulf and the Red Sea from the West. In view of this distinctive location and vast area, KSA has three seafronts on the Red Sea and Arabian Gulf, with coasts extending some 2400 km. KSA is the country with the longest coast on the Red Sea. Its coast in the Red Sea represents about 80% of the eastern Red Sea coast. The Red Sea separates southwest Asia from northeast Africa. It is the main arm connecting the Indian Ocean and the Arabian Sea in the South with the Mediterranean Sea in the North. 

The Arabian Gulf lies in southwest Asia. It is the eastern boundary of the Arabian Peninsula; and is initially an arm extending from the southeast, where the Hormuz Strait is located, to northwest, where is the Shatt Al-Arab estuary. The Arabian Gulf is connected to the Oman Sea, which lies to the east, via the Hormuz Strait, which is the connection between the Arabian Gulf and Oman Sea. this is main tributary for international trade, in view of the strategic location after the discovery of oil in and around this area. The Gulf area has become the main reservoir of oil in the world, with one-third of the world's oil production passing through the Arabian Gulf. 

The of  the kingdome of the Saudi Arabia established a naval force with the mission to defend and secure the kingdome lands, coastlines and territorial waters. In 1377H [1957G] the Naval Force School was established leading to the commencement of the (Naval Force) In 1380H [1960G], Riyadh Boat joined the Naval Force service to be the first naval vessel owned by the Naval Forces. Through subsequent significant expansions the kigdome managed to achieve immense reinforcements, thus making a quantum leap in delivering its military and naval mission. 

The Naval Forces owns two important fleets, namely the eastern fleet on the Arabian Gulf, and the western fleet on the Red Sea. Each of them have a full military capability including Battleship units, support ship units, administrative and technical support, naval aviation groups, marines and special naval security units. 

The RSNF understands the importance of qualification, education and the training of personnel. Hence the King Fahad Naval College, Technical Studies Institute, Naval Forces Schools, Marines School,  were established in addition to the naval training centers and simulators.

Since its foundation, the RSNF has pledged to deliver its responsibilities and accomplish its missions, defending the kingdome and participating in international naval alliances to provide peace and security in the region.

القوات البحرية الملكية السعودية
نبذة عامة
تتمتع المملكة العربية السعودية بموقع استراتيجي متميز، إذ تقع في شبه الجزيرة العربية، في أقصى جنوب غربي آسيا وتغطي مساحة المملكة التي تبلغ نحو مليوني كيلومتر مربع نحو ثلثي مساحة شبه الجزيرة العربية، وتنحصر بين الخليج العربي من الشرق، وخليج العقبة والبحر الاحمر من الغرب، ونتيجة لهذا الموقع المتميز والمساحة الواسعة تمتلك المملكة ثلاث واجهات بحرية ويبلغ طول سواحلها نحو 3400كم، إحداها على البحر الأحمر، والأخريان على الخليج العربي، حيث تطل المملكة من الغرب على خليج العقبة والبحر الاحمر بساحل يبلغ طوله نحو 2400 كم، وتحتل المرتبة الأولى بين الدول المطلة على ضفتي البحر الأحمر من حيث طول الساحل، ويمثل طول ساحلها على البحر الاحمر نحو 80 % من الساحل الشرقي للبحر الأحمر إذ أنه يفصل جنوب غرب قارة آسيا عن شمال شرقي قارة إفريقيا ويعد بذلك  الذراع الرئيس للمحيط الهندي بربطه المحيط الهندي وبحر العرب جنوباً مع البحر المتوسط شمالاً .

ويقع الخليج العربي في الجنوب الغربي من قارة آسيا، وهو الحد الشرقي لشبه الجزيرة العربية، وهو على هيئة ذراع ممتد بشكل عام من الجنوب الشرقي – حيث مضيق هرمز – إلى الشمال الغربي – حيث مصب شط العرب، ويتصل الخليج العربي ببحر عمان – الذي يقع الى الشرق منه – عبر مضيق هرمز، الذي يعد حلقة الوصل بين الخليج العربي وبحر عمان، ويعتبر الشريان الرئيس للتجارة الدولية – نظراً لموقعه المتميز بعد اكتشاف البترول فيه وفي المناطق المحيطة به، وأصبحت منطقة الخليج الخزان الرئيس للبترول في العالم، إذ يمر عبر الخليج نحو ثلث الانتاج العالمي من البترول.

ومن هذا المنطلق عمدت حكومة المملكة العربية السعودية إلى إنشاء قوة بحرية مهمتها الدفاع عن أمن وسلامة أراضي المملكة العربية السعودية والبحار الإقليمية لها، فكانت بداية نشأة القوات البحرية الملكية السعودية بين عام 1376هـ و 1377هـ وسميت حين ذلك بسلاح البحرية وفي عام 1380هـ انضم زورق الرياض الى الخدمة في القوات البحرية ليكون أول قطعة بحرية تمتلكها القوات البحرية ومنذ ذلك التاريخ استطاعت المملكة تحقيق تعزيز هائل بما يمثل نقلات كبيرة في تطوير ترسانتها العسكرية والبحرية .

تمتلك القوات البحرية أسطولين مهمين هما الأسطول الشرقي على الخليج العربي والأسطول الغربي على البحر الأحمر وكل منهما يمتلك قوة عسكرية كاملة تتمثل في وحدات السفن القتالية و وحدات الدعم والإسناد الإداري والفني ومجموعة الطيران البحري ومشاة البحرية ووحدات الأمن البحرية الخاصة.
وإيماناً من القوات البحرية الملكية السعودية بأهمية التأهيل والتعليم والتدريب للكوادر البشرية عمدت إلى إنشاء كلية الملك فهد البحرية ومعهد الدراسات الفنية ومدارس القوات البحرية ومدرسة مشاة البحرية ومدرسة وحدات الأمن البحرية الخاصة بالإضافة إلى مراكز التدريب البحري.
ومنذ تاريخها تعهدت القوات البحرية الملكية السعودية بتنفيذ مهامها وواجباتها بالذود عن حياض الوطن الغالي والمشاركة في تحالفات دولية بحرية لنشر السلام والأمن في المنطقة.